Custom Baby Blankets -DIY


Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.36.09 AMBaby blankets are awesome- especially handmade ones! I am proud to admit I still own my baby blanket, and it is in one piece!  I have always wanted to make blankets for friends and family having babies.  So, I started off simple and will eventually try to make a baby quilt as well. I searched Pinterest and found some easy tutorials (I am a beginner sewer) and got shopping to pick out fabric.

You will need:

1 yard of fabric in each pattern (2 yards per blanket)

Matching Thread

The given: Sewing machine, Scissors, measuring tape, pins

 

Here are my easy steps that I followed- I have since made 5 different blankets and each recipient has been wowed 🙂

Custom Baby Blanket Directions 

Step 1: Go to your local fabric store and choose your fabrics.  I have made both flannel and flannel/minky blankets.  I swear it almost takes as long to pick out the fabric as it does make the blanket.  I bought 1 yard of fabric in each print/fabric I wanted to use per blanket- I didn’t want to waste fabric, so they ended up an odd size (about 34″x41″) but I like having a more rectangular blanket anyways. So many purposes for a blanket with a baby.

Step 2: Wash, dry and iron fabric.

Step 3: Measure twice, cut once.  Again I decided to use as much of the fabric as possible and made a 34″x41″ blanket.

Step 4: Lay design sides of fabric together and pin. Making sure to leave a 6″ opening to be able to turn fabric after sewing.

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.29.50 AM

Step 5: Sew a straight stitch – making sure not to sew your 6″ opening.  Also, turn corners if you want a rounded look when completed.

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.31.02 AM  Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.32.18 AM

Step 6: Turn fabric, pin together 6″ opening and sew.  I used a zig-zag stitch about 1/2″ from the edge. I also picked matching tread.

Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.33.16 AM Screen Shot 2014-07-21 at 10.34.48 AM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 7: Your done, that was easy! Now, wrap with a bow and give to an expecting parent or baby!

IMG_6852

Flannel & Minky blankets

IMG_6848

Finished project!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Flannel blankets

Flannel blankets

  If you know anyone who is interested in a custom baby blanket, contact me and I would be more than happy to make one for you!

Leave a comment